Pakistan's Premier Multilingual News Agency

Babar Azam reaches 9000 T20 runs

Babar Azam has become the fastest batsman to reach 9000 runs in T20 cricket history.

Lahore, 16 March 2023 (GNP): Chris Gayle, a legendary Caribbean cricketer, had previously held the record for the fastest 9000 T20 runs until Pakistani sensation Babar Azam smashed it during the PSL 2023 Elimination 1.

Babar Azam, the Peshawar Zalmi captain accomplished the milestone during his 64-run innings against Islamabad United in the first elimination game of PSL season 8 on Thursday.

The Zalmi captain created the ideal platform for his squad by smashing 10 fours during his 39-ball inning against United. In the 13th over, United’s captain, Shadab Khan, caught him lbw.

Babar Azam accomplished the milestone on Thursday in his 245th game, shattering Chris Gayle’s previous record of 249 games as his Peshawar Zalmi team staged an incredible comeback to defeat Islamabad United by 12 runs and advance to the Pakistan Super League playoffs.

Also Read: PCB changes date for PSL-8 final match

Virat Kohli (271), David Warner (273) and Aaron Finch (281) are the next players to surpass the 9000 milestone after Babar and Gayle.

Today, Peshawar will play the Lahore Qalandars, the defending champions, in the second elimination game. The victor advances to the rescheduled final against the Multan Sultans on Saturday.