Pakistan's Premier Multilingual News Agency

Pakistan squad embarks on test series tour to Australia with determination

Karachi, 30 November, 2023 (GNP): The Pakistan cricket squad, comprising 18 players and a 17-member management team, departed for Australia on Thursday with aspirations to script a historic turnaround in their upcoming Test series against the host nation.

The team is scheduled to arrive in Sydney via Dubai before proceeding to Canberra, where they will engage in a practice match against the Australia Prime Minister’s XI set for December 6. This tour marks the beginning of a fresh chapter under the guidance of newly appointed batting coach Adam Hollioake and high-performance coach Simon Grant Helmot, who will join the team in Australia.

Preparations and Training Regime:

Upon their arrival, the squad is expected to initiate training sessions in Canberra, commencing on Sunday at 10 am local time. The rigorous training schedule aims to acclimate the players to the conditions and fine-tune their skills ahead of the series.

Test Matches Schedule:

The Pakistan cricket team is geared up for a compelling Test series against Australia. The series comprises three matches scheduled in Perth from December 14 to 18, followed by Melbourne from December 26, and culminating in Sydney on January 3, 2024.

Also Read: COP28: Climate ‘loss and damage’ fund launch draws praise and funding

Captain’s Assurances and Team Strategy:

In a recent press conference, Test captain Shan Masood affirmed the team’s commitment to fortify the playing XI around renowned batter Babar Azam. Masood assured that the team had undergone a meticulous selection process, ensuring a cohesive unit for the tour.

“Our Test team is well-settled, and the focus is on performing in the World Test Championship,” stated Shan. He hinted at maintaining the opening partnership of Abdullah Shafique and Imam Ul Haq, slotting himself at number 3 in the batting order.

Emphasizing the team’s strategy, Masood underscored the significance of consistency within the side while expressing the intent to win and showcasing an assertive style of play during the series.

Pakistan Squad for Australia Tests:

The squad comprises Shan Masood (captain), Aamir Jamal, Abdullah Shafique, Abrar Ahmed, Babar Azam, Faheem Ashraf, Hasan Ali, Imam-ul-Haq, Khurram Shahzad, Mir Hamza, Mohammad Rizwan (wk), Mohammad Wasim Jnr, Noman Ali, Saim Ayub, Salman Ali Agha, Sarfaraz Ahmed (wk), Saud Shakeel, and Shaheen Shah Afridi.